My layoff story

31 Mar

I strolled into the office on a routine Wednesday morning muttering my good mornings and hellos like everyday. I had a 9 am scheduled with my boss and went to his office. He sat me down and broke the news – because of the way things are blah blah blah, we have to let you go and today is your LAST DAY blah blah blah. I had never been so stunned in my life. My brain just froze and I was completely devoid of any thoughts for a few seconds. They threw me under a bus and then they ask me if I was okay. Guys, I feel like S*** right now, exactly the way one would feel if they were under a bus, thank you very much!! My second thought was that the building should just blow off and I should be the lone survivor.

Flashback:

I think when I was basking in my not-pregnant-anymore-new-mommy bliss, these evil beings were hatching a plot. There I was, my ridiculously naive self against the conspirators totally unaware of the suspicious happenings around me.

Back from flashback:

The most insane part of the whole episode was that the very next instant, I was enemy number one. All my accessories were confiscated and I felt like I was being court martialed and banished to Afghanistan for the rest of my life to live in an underground prison.

Present Day:

I survived, thanks to my little girl, mom-made food, chilled beer and an extremely supportive husband!!!

8 Responses to “My layoff story”

  1. Jinu March 31, 2009 at 9:11 pm #

    Gosh that must have been tough! but yes beer usually comes to rescue at times like these! 😛

  2. BrownPhantom April 2, 2009 at 9:32 am #

    This isn’t a very good time to be in; we can only hope that the recession gets over quickly and bright sun-shine returns.
    This might be a blessing in disguise. You get a guilt-free time to spend with ur baby and can take your decision for the next job with a cool head .
    Best of luck for whenever you decide to look for a new job.

  3. J April 3, 2009 at 1:30 am #

    Layoffs can be quite stressful. But the truth is, it ain’t the end of the world. And I suppose you realized that soon enough.

  4. ocean29 April 7, 2009 at 5:59 am #

    Hi,
    Yes i can understand the feeling to an extent of being thrown out of place which u loved to be. I mean for me a day before i was roaming around in the office as if every small thing was mine and the next day, my swipe card stops working. Well it’s life and we need to move on.

    Yes family is the best support 24*7. Even i mite come up with a list what i did when i was thrown out of my company for few weeks.

    Keep Rocking,
    PN

  5. PN April 7, 2009 at 6:07 am #

    Hi,
    I can understand your feeling to an extent. You are thrown out of the place which u were a part a moment ago. It was same for me. A day ago i was thinking every that every small thing at my work was mine but the next day my swipe card ditched me.
    Well it’s life and as I say “Keep Running” and the best support system is family 24* 7.

    Keep Rocking,
    PN.

  6. Kadambari April 7, 2009 at 7:23 pm #

    I’m so sorry to hear this. I hope all this gets over ASAP and life gets back to normalcy. Till then, take care!

  7. Sujay April 9, 2009 at 7:09 pm #

    Nice blog Ashwini. I like the present day situation you have 🙂 .. I guess my other team members/ peers who were let go would have gone through the “bus” experience. I should say their experience might be more tragic as they don’t have such a cute little daughter 🙂

    Keep writing!

  8. adesh sidhu April 11, 2009 at 12:54 pm #

    No need to worry…utillize this time to learn new skills, volunteer, ask people if you can help them, teach others, mentor someone…
    Use this slack time to judiciously.

Leave a Reply

