MOM BOM

28 Jun

My laptop crashed about 10 days back and ever since I have been scrambling to get it working again. I spent an hour on the phone with the customer support representative and he asked me to open up the machine and do stuff that I’d never ever do on my own. But nothing worked and the verdict was that I would have to ship it off to the service center for repairs but the catch was that they would simply restore it to factory settings which meant I’d lose all my data. So I was scrambling again to get a data backup before shipping it off. I was extremely frustrated and upset that I would be laptopless for the next few days. I had not realized how dependent I had become on the laptop and I think this upset me more than anything else.

Something very nice happened the same day and I couldnt help smiling. We had been teaching Jiya a few words here and there and she suddenly said M-O-M, although I am doubtful if she knows what it means, but it was enough to lift my spirits. She kept repeating it every few minutes and I was all smiles by the time she had finished exercising her new found vocabulary. She started again the next morning, but quickly I realized that instead of saying M-O-M she was saying B-O-M. In her sleep, she had forgotten how to say the first letter M and I was now her B-O-M, no, actually BOM BOM BOM……

4 Responses to “MOM BOM”

  1. Swaram June 28, 2009 at 11:12 pm #

    BOM BOM – so sweet of Jiya.

    Welcome back 🙂

  2. Smita June 29, 2009 at 7:15 am #

    Awww!!!! That is sooo sweet!!!!

    I can understand ur laptop woes. Even mine has conked off, thankfully the prob is just in the charging point so might be corrected soon!!!

    Good luck in getting the data backup!

  3. Swaram June 30, 2009 at 10:19 pm #

    Hey, I have a tag for u. Do take it up if u find it interesting 🙂

  4. LnddMiles July 23, 2009 at 1:32 pm #

    Pretty cool post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say
    that I have really liked reading your blog posts. Anyway
    I’ll be subscribing to your blog and I hope you post again soon!

Leave a Reply

