First Week at Work

14 Jul

Its been a week at work and it still feels brand new to be back into an overly-air-conditioned cubicle after more than six months of mind-blowing chaos and disorientation. Wow, I like that musty smell!

Things that I have noticed so far
1. The new job is still very new and the best part of the job so far is the cafeteria. I am loving the fresh salad bar and the occasional indulgence at the ‘cheesy’ mexican counter.
2. The ladies room washbasin has a sign that says ‘take a minute to debug yourself’. Pretty original, I have to say!
3. There is an automated coffee machine that brews a ‘left’ coffee, a ‘right’ coffee and a ‘left and right blend’. But it takes almost 46 seconds to fill an 8 oz cup. Not that I care, but I could see the frustration on many a face.
4. People walk their bikes through the elevator and into their cubes. There, thats one seriously green company.
5. The free soda vending machine hasnt been emptied out even after 48 hours!
6. No one carries a notebook/paper into a meeting anymore, no one except me of course. I seem to have skipped a complete generation of changes during my absence.
7. Half the people in the meeting are texting the other half that are not in the meeting.
8. The only thing I miss is Jiya and not so much the SAHM role.

And that reminds me that I have to update my profile!

2 Responses to “First Week at Work”

  1. Mumbai Diva July 14, 2009 at 10:41 pm #

    congratulations:)

    a fresh salad bar? It sees like an interesting place.

  2. Swaram July 14, 2009 at 10:52 pm #

    Hey .. gr8 to c u bk. So, been busy with the new job is it! Congratulations 🙂

Leave a Reply

