A Disaster of a Movie

15 Jul

DISCLAIMER: This is strictly my opinion and in no way a review of the movie. Please make your own call about watching or not watching it.

Why, why, why???? (in the same tone as KYON KYON KYON????). I cannot believe that I let myself being walked to watching this insult of a movie called Kambakht Ishq. I have certainly realized one thing that when you are an avid/regular movie-goer/watcher, your tolerance to such movies is very high as opposed to when you have to carve out 2+ hours from your bound-to-the-hands-of-the-clock routine causing you to spend the next 10 days getting back on track. This is, in effect, the LAW OF CONSERVATION OF TOLERANCE. The total sum of tolerance always remains the same. The level is reduced to a hair while watching such(read Kambakht Ishq ish type) movies and on the other hand it is stretched beyond belief while dealing with an attention challenged one year old.

Anyway, getting back to the movie in question, I am falling short of expletives. Even if the director of the movie sent me a written apology, I would be unwilling to accept. How can anyone even think of making such a ridiculous movie and even if someone made such movie and also a fool of themselves, how does it even get through the censor board? Worse, how did Akshay Kumar, Kareena Kapoor, Sylvester Stallone and Dennis Richards not see the light of the day? Is it true that some people would do anything for money? I can imagine Kareena Kapoor being interviewed and asked about the character she plays in the movie and Kareena replying, “its very different from the characters that I have played before. I think I am just like her (the character) in real life so it was very easy to play the role”. Wow, if thats the case, then Kareena should be renamed a walking encyclopaedia of cursing and swearing because that is all she does for 2 hours straight.

I think I would rather watch Rakhi Ka Swayamvar instead.

8 Responses to “A Disaster of a Movie”

  1. Rashmi July 16, 2009 at 11:40 am #

    Or ” The Proposal”, thats seriously a good one.. Sorry to hear about Kambakht Ishq 🙂

    Loved Kareena’s reply to the interview question. I could totally see Kareena saying that.. same “Ghisa Pita” answer every single time..

    • ashwinideo July 16, 2009 at 11:57 am #

      I would definitely like to watch a seriously good movie if only to erase the bad memory of the earlier one.

  2. Vin July 16, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

    Well the very first day when I read the story of Kambakht Ishq, my reaction was the same what does these directors think when they start this kind of ventures. But I guess you need to look it from another view and that is AAM AADMI’s view. This movie is making history and making some serious cash. And this will encourage some more directors to make more movies like this. (All I can say is Directors ridicule a small amount of people because this is what AAM AADMI likes, I hate to be treated like an AAM AADMI….!!)

    • ashwinideo July 16, 2009 at 10:01 pm #

      Wow, is this movie really making money? I dont know what to say, AAM AADMI JAAAGOOO……

      • Vin July 17, 2009 at 11:44 am #

        BTW Sunny has become a great fan of its songs, especially Mangalam Mangalam. He is insisting on watching this movie … 😦

    • Tanuja July 16, 2009 at 11:02 pm #

      Found this in an online box office report….

      “…Believe it or not, a Kambakkht Ishq mania has swept across the nation (India). The film has opened to an overwhelming response and at the end of Day 1, it was clear that the film would surpass the opening weekend business of Singh Is Kinng (which was 2008’s biggest hit) and at places, would be at par with Ghajini, especially in North India. In fact, the film could well turn out to be Akshay’s biggest opener so far….”

      I’m thinking Kambakth Ishq got lucky because of the long Multiplex strike. The Aam Aadmi seems desperate to watch a movie. Kuch aur nahi to Kambakth Ishq hi sahi….

  3. Tanuja July 16, 2009 at 9:52 pm #

    Seriously….. you should watch Rakhi ka Swaymavar. I’ve been following it for 4 days now and it is indeed very entertaining!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Writing a Movie Review « Tandoori Lounge - July 18, 2009

    […] So it appears that I would totally suck at writing movie reviews(Refer to the previous post – A disaster of a movie). The first movie that I express an opinion about, turns out to be completely opposite based on the […]

Leave a Reply

