My Little Goat

23 Jul

Lately Jiya has been doing the weirdest of things(which I hear are normal for a one-year old and they would seem weird only to everybody else). Sure, its the discovery phase and everything but whats to discover in dragging a laptop bag(which is easily twice her weight) all through the house and after falling over 17 times she finally sees the light of the day and settles down with the POTS AND PANS in the kitchen ignoring the 10 million age appropriate toys she owns. Its mind boggling to see the routine every single day and I cannot help but smile and eat her up.

I think in her previous life she was someone who earned her living doing laundry. The moment she sees a piece of cloth and I mean it, towels, napkins, apron, rag cloths, bedsheets, pillow covers, you name it, she has to grab one and run away and stash it in her secret hiding place and it will resurface the next day under the bed or her toy basket or even the shoe cabinet. Needless to say that her favorite digging spot is the laundry basket.

On second thoughts she could also have been a trash collector or a more fancier, treasure hunter, if there is anything like that. If I ever lose an earring, I can trust her to find it and the same applies to quarters, tags removed from new clothes, hair clips, cherry stalks, milk can caps, cheerios etc. What can I say, of course I am secretly happy that she found that earring but also relieved that the ‘treasures’ or ‘trash’ did not end up in her mouth. Turns out teaching her ‘GIVE IT TO MAMMA’ was not a complete waste of time.

These days I think that she might also have been a goat or a cow. How else would you explain eating karela whose juice was actually meant to be applied to her thumb in order to stop her from thumb sucking(karela or bitter gourd is an extremely bitter Indian vegetable) but surprise surprise, Jiya had stuck a karela slice into her mouth and was enjoying her snack. The karela juice formula had to be abandoned even before commencing the trial. Orange peel comes in a close second, I’ve tried to reason, WHY??? and ‘BRIGHT ATTRACTIVE ROUND ORANGE BALL’ is the best explanation I can come up with. She will grab at an orange and bite off a hearty bit of peel. No one knows what happens(to humans) when you eat orange peel, although I have not heard of any disadvantages of eating orange peel and I know that it does not cause any harm to cows and goats. We once had a dog when I was growing up, that would eat papaya skin and would still be alive and kicking the next morning.

Well, if Jiya was all this, I wonder what that makes me????

5 Responses to “My Little Goat”

  1. Swaram July 24, 2009 at 1:39 am #

    OMG! Can I say hilarious πŸ˜‰ Laundry, goat et…al .. she is being 24×7 entertainment na πŸ˜›

    • ashwinideo July 24, 2009 at 9:28 am #

      She definitely is quite a handful. I missed your visits and responses.

      • Swaram July 25, 2009 at 7:56 am #

        Yeah! Missed the last two .. movie reviews πŸ™‚

  2. thethoughtfultrain July 24, 2009 at 5:43 am #

    Oh I did happen upon orange peel in the Orange Chicken that we had yesterday. It is horrible. Like chewing flavoured sponge! Your dottys antics are very cute though! πŸ™‚

    • ashwinideo July 24, 2009 at 9:26 am #

      Thanks dear reader. You know, its been ages since I had orange chicken and I am thinking of making it at home except that the ‘fried’ part is holding me back.

Leave a Reply

