Of Fathers and Daughters

22 Jul

I know Father’s Day is long gone but I recently took this picture and couldnt help wondering about it. There is something so warm and fuzzy about a father daughter relationship. They share a very special and unique bond unlike any other. I am told that when my baby sister was born, I brought the house down at the prospect of having to share my mom and finally gave in with a heavy heart but when it came to my dad, I just plain refused, ‘NO WAY. HE IS MINE’!

The beauty of this relationship is that it has stayed the same over generations, no change, no evolution. Years ago, it was ‘Baabul ki duwayein leti ja’ and today it is ‘Papa ki pari hoon mai’.

The picture in question, which sums it all –

Although, I love being a mom and I would never give it up for anything else, I sometimes wonder how it would be to be a dad and experience that warm and fuzzy love!!

7 Responses to “Of Fathers and Daughters”

  1. tima deole joshi July 22, 2010 at 3:52 am #

    it is amazing snap and a wonderfull thought which i am experiencing all my life and now looking through my daughter and her dad as a mom we do everything for r kid ….but i swear dad's role is so so lovely and secret

  2. AD July 22, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Thanks Tima. A mom can be a mom, sister, friend, agony aunt but a dad is always THE HERO 🙂

  3. Anonymous July 22, 2010 at 12:38 pm #

    My Dad has often said this to me (mostly when we are arguing).. "Tu baap ka dil kabhi nahi samjhegi.. tu samajh hi nahi sakti.."It used to make me so mad, but I guess he's right about that one :)Love the picture.. it made me miss my Dad..-g

  4. AD July 22, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

    Thanks G! Its so true about dads! My husband surprises me at times with some of his dad traits and his 'baap ka dil'.

  5. Abhijeet Phirke July 23, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    Well, I must say, I'm touched by this photo n blog… i have a 16 months old… you know, i can feel the difference in me!

  6. AD July 23, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    Thanks Abhi! If you want to hear more, ask your wife 🙂

  7. Swaram July 26, 2010 at 1:54 am #

    Thatz so true!

Leave a Reply

