Motherhood: Reality Check

25 Apr



Although, Mother’s Day is still a few weeks away, and I had intended to write this post for Mother’s Day. But I just could not wait until then. DISCLAIMER: This post is ‘inspired’ by a post from my old blog(now deactivated).


Some time back, I was watching the movie ‘Marley and Me’ and in the movie, Jennifer Aniston who is a mom of three, says, “I cannot believe the amount of sacrifice I have made to become this person that I am not”.
Motherhood actually does funny things to you. If you think, you’ll realize that you have been fighting tooth and nail to become someone that you are not. I like to think that this transformation is for the greater good. But you got ta admit that motherhood isnt always the textbook kind, it isnt always picture perfect, there are the usual rough-around-the-edges moments.
When my first one was born, the first question I had asked my husband in the labor room was, “Does she have any hair?” Who asks that? By the time I had my second one, I thankfully didnt care about the hair anymore. Also I have refused to watch the 20-week ultrasound tape that I specially had the OB/GYN’s office make. I really could not bring myself to see the most non-human looking thing. I did feel terrible that I had almost compared my unborn child to an alien. ALMOST! 
And of course there were those nasty spells where everything was the baby’s fault(not to mention the husband) for e.g.
  • make me wear those disgusting maternity clothes
  • making me feel guilty for glancing and then dreaming about sipping a glass of my favorite wine
  • making me look fat and chubby(honestly, who cares about the motherhood glow nonsense!)
  • making me wear cheap flip flops instead of my heels
  • giving me nightmares about breaking my water and going into labor in the middle of a meeting at work
  • making me ridiculously clumsy and keep dropping things and then having to bend over and pick them up
Yeah, I have fulfilled my share of ranting and cursing. Does that make me a terrible mom? I hope not. In fact, I think I exceeded my own expectations. I am amazed that my girls manage to bring out the best in me. I might even start liking this new and transformed ME. But no surprises that they also manage to bring out the worst in me at times. That is especially when mom’s words ring a bell, “You’ll know when you become a mom”. 
All of you fellow moms out there, give yourselves a pat on the back for accepting this new found self-evolution.

12 Responses to “Motherhood: Reality Check”

  1. sathish kumar April 26, 2012 at 10:52 am #

    kudos.

  2. Giribala April 28, 2012 at 5:31 am #

    Beautiful picture!! It's little moments of joy like these that makes the burden lighter 🙂

  3. bb April 28, 2012 at 6:12 am #

    awesome blog….happy blogging

  4. AD April 28, 2012 at 11:57 am #

    thanks Sathish 🙂

  5. AD April 28, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    You bet!

  6. AD April 28, 2012 at 11:58 am #

    thanks bb!

  7. Destination Infinity April 29, 2012 at 5:41 am #

    For a change, it's good to see a honest post instead of those 'I was so happy all along…' type ones. I think being a mother is as much about the challenges one faces, as it is about the happiness that one faces. Well said, and congrats on the BlogAdda pick.Destination Infinity

  8. AD April 29, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    Thanks DI. That is exactly what was going through my head when I was writing this post 🙂

  9. amit April 29, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

    I liked the "alien" part. I remember a scene from a movie where the mother could not locate the baby on the screen even though the nurse is pointing straight at him and then she starts crying that she is a bad mother.Congrats for the pick. 🙂

  10. AD April 30, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    Thanks you! I think you might be referring to an episode of FRIENDS where Rachael and Ross are shown the teeny weeny peanut for the first time and they cant see it but they pretend seeing it to save face in front of the nurse :-)) Totally hilarious and so true!

  11. Anonymous May 9, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

    I am guilty of enjoying almost all of my pregnancy… I hope some moms won't hold THAT against me 😉 I am guilty of watching my ultrasound pics at least once every week. (At least back then, she resembled me :P)I shopped like crazy for maternity clothes, and enjoyed wearing all of them. (I have no idea what to do with them now)I smiled every time I dropped something..I loved thinking to myself, the baby made me do it..I hate wearing heels, and loved the excuse to wear flats 7 days a week. (I'm still wearing flats, no excuses now :-/)I fantasized about weird water breaking scenarios.. (Maybe I was oddly craving more attention.. who knows !)But even so, I can't imagine doing this again.. Here's to being a mommy, will all its crazy ups and downs (Hormonal or otherwise ;))-gd

  12. Swaram May 11, 2012 at 11:09 am #

    That pic is beautiful! And a post well expressed 🙂

Leave a Reply

